FLAT TIRE!

My significant other phones me to tell me that she came out of a store to find that her suv has a flat tire…

So I loaded a few items into the jeep and away I go.

I was hoping that I could inflate the tire and the tire would hold air long enough to make it home.

Luck was on our side!

I keep an array of tools in the jeep but this time I added two items for this situation to aid in inflating the flat tire.

Item one:

  • The portable compressed air tank! This tank is filled with compressed air and was a god send in rapid filling the large suv tire that needs high pressure plus a large volume of air! Just make sure you have the proper air valve attachment to fill the tire! I had the tank filled to 80 psi. This was perfect for the transferring of air from the tank to the tire. It took all of two minutes to reach 40 psi. tire pressure from 5 psi! The filled tank will stay in the jeep!

Item two:

  • The 12 volt inflator! This one seems ok. It has a 10 minute continous duty cycle. Which translates into; run it for 10 minutes, shut it off and let it cool off, then repeat. Slow to fill a large tire. It will pump enough air into the tire allowing you to drive the vehicle to a service garage, etc… It is well worth having one in your vehicle kit. It runs off your 12 volt plug outlet on your dashboard.

Air Tank

inflator

I also keep a hydraulic jack & two jack stands in the jeep to facilitate tire changing.

Water, a first aid kit, tools, seasonal clothing, a manual tire pump, a tire plug kit, and a can of slime tire seal is part of my road kit as well…

Kit up your vehicle, you will need it someday.

About Norse Defense

Gear & Tactics for the Modern Patriot

Leave a Reply

